Vermont Unarmed Security Guard

In Vermont, a license is required for unarmed security guards. The Board of Private Investigative and Security Services makes the regulations regarding licensing. There are certain criteria that must be met before a license will be approved. The hiring company is responsible for submitting the application.

Basic requirements for unarmed security guards in Vermont:

  • Be at least 18 years old
  • Valid Social Security number
  • Driver’s License
  • Finger print cards (1)
  • Certificate of completion of 40-hours of classroom training
  • Mentally competent
  • Provide character references
  • No drug or alcohol use or dependence
  • Must successfully pass a drug test
  • No felony convictions
  • No disabilities that would prevent performance of duty
  • Submit to criminal background check

Training Curriculum:

A basic training must be conducted by a board-approved instructor with at least two years experience in the subject matter. Topics may include but is not limited to the following:

(1) Role of Private Security
(2) Legal Aspects
(3) Patrol and Observation
(4) Incident Response
(5) Security Resources: Surveillance operation and documentation
(6) Customer Service Issues: Working with and addressing the public
(7) First Aid Overview
(8) Report Writing

For more information, please consult the Board of Private Investigative and Security Services Rules or call (802) 828-1505.

Posted in: Unarmed guard requirements | Tags:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *