Virginia Unarmed Security Guard

In Virginia, a registration is required for unarmed security guards. The Virginia Department of Criminal Justice sets the regulations regarding licensing. There are certain criteria that must be met before a license will be approved. The hiring company is responsible for submitting the application.

Basic requirements for unarmed security guards in Virginia:

  • Be at least 18 years old
  • Finger print cards
  • Mentally competent
  • No drug or alcohol use or dependence
  • Must successfully pass a drug test
  • No felony convictions
  • No disabilities that would prevent performance of duty
  • Submit to criminal background check
  • Successfully complete 18 hours of required training

Training Curriculum:

A basic training must be conducted by a board-approved instructor. Topics may include but is not limited to the following:

  1. Orientation – 2 hours
    • Laws and Regulations
    • Code of Ethics
    • Role and Responsibilities
  2. Law – 4 hours
  3. Security Patrol, Access Control, and Communications – 2 hours
  4. Writing reports – 4 hours
  5. Emergency Procedures – 4 hours
  6. Confrontation Management – 2 hours

Fees:

Registration: $25 Click here for application

Fingerprinting: $50 Click here for application

For more information, please consult the Unarmed Security Guard Requirements in Virginia or call (804)786-4700.

Posted in: Unarmed guard requirements | Tags:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *