South Carolina Unarmed Security Guard

In South Carolina, a license is required for unarmed security guards. The South Carolina Law Enforcement Division (SLED) administers licensing. The hiring company must be licensed and will forward all information to SLED for approval. The individual does not do it. There are certain criteria that must be met before a license will be approved.

Basic requirements for unarmed security guards in South Carolina:

  • Be at least 18 years old
  • High school diploma or equivalent
  • Must be a United States citizen or resident alien
  • Mentally competent
  • Have good moral character
  • No drug or alcohol use or dependence
  • Must successfully pass a drug test
  • No felony convictions
  • No disabilities that would prevent performance of duty
  • Finger print card
  • Submit to criminal background check
  • Complete required training by a SLED certified trainer

Training Curriculum:

The hiring company provides the required training. Four or more hours of training must be completed and a written exam passed and scored. The training must be material from the South Carolina Technical College Private Security Training School. A basic training conducted may include but is not limited to the following:

(1) Role of Private Security
(2) Legal Aspects
(3) Patrol and Observation
(4) Incident Response
(5) Security Resources: Surveillance operation and documentation
(6) Customer Service Issues: Working with and addressing the public
(7) First Aid Overview

Fees are nonrefundable:

Licensing: $65

For more information, please read SLED Regulations or call (803)737-9000.

Posted in: Unarmed guard requirements | Tags:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *