Ohio Unarmed Security Guard

In the state of Ohio, unarmed security guards are required to registered but not licensed if guard is an employee of a licensed security company. It is the responsibility of the licensed company to ensure that all employees are registered within seven business days of hire. Registration renewal required annually. The basic requirements that may be required from the hiring company is as follows:

Basic requirements for an unarmed security guard in Ohio:

  • Must be at least 18 years old
  • United States citizen or resident alien
  • May require proof of high school diploma or equivalent
  • No felony convictions or misdemeanors associated with violence (which includes domestic), drugs ( use or sale), theft or fraud
  • Good moral character
  • Successfully pass a background check
  • No mental disorders or defects that will prohibit performance of duties
  • Employed by a private security company and under supervision from a licensed patrol officer
  • Fingerprint card

Other Requirements that May Be Helpful:

  • Driver’s License
  • Good Communication skills
  • Good physical conditioning
  • Be able to stand long periods of time

Fees: All fees are non-refundable

Registration fee: $25

For more information, please see Ohio Dept of Public Safety Laws & Rules or call (614) 466-4130. Application and other information can be found on the Dept. of Public Safety.

Posted in: Unarmed guard requirements | Tags:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *