North Carolina Unarmed Security Guard

In North Carolina, unarmed security guards are required to be licensed/registered. Certain basic criteria must be met first before applying.

Basic requirements for an unarmed security guard in North Carolina:

  • Must be at least 18 years old
  • United States citizen or resident alien
  • No felony convictions or misdemeanors associated with violence (which includes domestic), drugs ( use or sale), theft or fraud in the last 5 years
  • Good moral character
  • Submit (2) recent passport type photo (one inch by one inch)
  • Submit fingerprint cards (2)
  • Certified copy of criminal background history for the last 48 months
  • Successfully complete department approved training within 30 days of hire
  • Employee of a private security company and under supervision from a licensed patrol officer

Other Requirements that May Be Helpful:

  • Driver’s License
  • Good Communication skills
  • Good physical conditioning
  • Be able to stand long periods of time

Training Requirements: Must complete 16 hours of classroom training

  1. The Security Officer in North Carolina — (minimum of one hour)
  2. Legal Issues for Security Officers — (minimum of three hours)
  3. Emergency Response — (minimum of three hours)
  4. Communications — (minimum of two hours)
  5. Patrol Procedures — (minimum of three hours)
  6. Note Taking and Report Writing — (minimum of three hours)
  7. Deportment — (minimum of one hour)

Fees: All fees are non-refundable

Application: $30

For more information, please see the North Carolina General Statues or contact the:
Private Protective Services Board
P.O. Box 29500
3320 Old Garner Rd.
Raleigh, NC 27626-050

Posted in: Unarmed guard requirements | Tags:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *